Get Certified Get Ahead Beyond CompTIA

Beyond the CompTIA Trio

Beyond the CompTIA Trio

Many people start with the CompTIA trio of A+, Network+, and Security+ to build a solid foundation in Information Technology (IT). Then they branch out into other areas. While this site is focused on the CompTIA trio, it also includes some information on other certs that people commonly pursue.

Get Certified Get Ahead Beyond CompTIA

What’s Next

Aspiring IT professionals frequently ask me questions like “How can I get into an IT job?” and “What is the best IT certification path for network administrators?” Unfortunately, there isn’t a one-size-fits-all answer because there are so many variables, such as how much knowledge you start with and what type of jobs are available where you live. IT Certification Path for Network Administrators
IT Certification Path

However, if you are focused on landing an IT job and you‘re willing to take the time to master the materials, you can earn several certifications that will make you highly desirable as a network administrator, one of the industry’s most essential and opportunity-rich positions. Learn the material, earn the certifications, and you’ll have an opportunity to shine at network administration job interviews.

This blog identifies a possible IT certification path.


Many people pursue the Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) as the next step after Security+. It builds on the Security+ exam and can be a stepping stone on the path to the highly valuable CISSP certification.The SSCP Systems Security Certified Practitioner All-in-One Exam Guide covers all the objectives for this certification.
Learn More About SSCP

Get complete coverage of all the material on the Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) exam inside this comprehensive resource. Written by a leading IT security certification and training expert, this authoritative guide addresses all seven SSCP domains as developed by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC)2, including updated objectives effective April, 2015. You’ll find lists of topics covered at the beginning of each chapter, exam tips, practice exam questions, and in-depth explanations. Designed to help you pass the exam with ease, SSCP Systems Security Certified Practitioner All-in-One Exam Guide also serves as an essential on-the-job reference.

Whether you are looking to advance your current position in the information security field, expand upon your existing IT skills or launch a new career in either of these areas, you should seriously consider the SSCP from (ISC)²®. The SSCP is open to all candidates with as little as one year experience, making it an ideal starting point for a new career in infosec or to add that layer of security you need in your current IT career.

The SSCP is ideal for those working in or towards positions such as:

  • security
  • network security engineer
  • systems analyst
  • information systems auditor
  • application programmer
  • security administrator
  • systems administrator
  • network administrator
  • database administrator
  • business unit representative
  • systems analyst
  • security architect
  • security consultant/specialist
  • information assurance technician

SSCP Systems Security Certified Practitioner All-in-One Exam Guide 2nd Edition errata page.


The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification is a globally recognized standard of achievement that confirms an individual’s knowledge in the field of information security. CISSP (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional Official Study Guide

CISSPs are information assurance professionals who define the architecture, design, management and/or controls that assure the security of business environments.

Learn More About CISSP

The CISSP exam tests one’s competence in the ten CISSP domains of the (ISC)²®CBK®, which cover critical topics in security today, including risk management, cloud computing, mobile security, application development security and more. Candidates must have a minimum of five years of experience in two of the ten domains. This vast breadth of knowledge and the experience it takes to pass the exam is what sets the CISSP apart.

CISSPs often hold job functions including:

  • Security Consultant
  • Security Manager
  • IT Director/Manager
  • Security Auditor
  • Security Architect
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Systems Engineer
  • Chief Information Security Officer
  • Director of Security
  • Network Architect

The CISSP exam is based on the following ten domains:

  • Access Control
  • Telecommunications and Network Security
  • Information Security Governance and Risk Management
  • Software Development Security
  • Cryptography
  • Security Architecture and Design
  • Operations Security
  • Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Planning
  • Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Compliance
  • Physical (Environmental) Security


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.